Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Coolant System Problems

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2013, 09:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1997
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Coolant System Problems

Hello every one, I have been using this site as a guest for about 6 months and I've found only the best of advise/tips/technical knowledge.

Two weeks ago my 97 Cherokee overheated and I had to replace the head gasket and have the (very warped) head shaved. Put it all back together (using tips from all of you) with a new thermostat and water pump. Installed the belt in the correct direction.

I drove it 80 miles on the interstate from my dads shop home and no problems, runs great. This afternoon however I parked it coming home from work and as soon as I stopped the radiator cap popped and fluid went everywhere.

Aside from a new cap....anything that i missed that could be causing the coolant system to fail i.e. not circulate properly?
Old 06-03-2013, 09:10 PM
CF Veteran

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0L HO

Hot coolant/pressure escaping to the bottle (via the rad cap) is normal (hot motor) as is coolant returning to the rad from the bottle as the motor cools. The bottle should never overflow nor should it run dry.
Old 06-03-2013, 09:24 PM
CF Veteran

Engine: 4.0L

Originally Posted by djb383
Hot coolant/pressure escaping to the bottle (via the rad cap) is normal (hot motor) as is coolant returning to the rad from the bottle as the motor cools. The bottle should never overflow nor should it run dry.
I don't think that's what he's asking.. Sounds like its shooting out the cap, not into the over flow. Could check that small hose and see it its clogged.
What thermostat did you get?
Old 06-03-2013, 09:38 PM
CF Veteran

Originally Posted by Demonoid369