Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Buying A Cherokee and have a few questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2010, 01:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Buying A Cherokee and have a few questions

Hi guys,

This is my first time on this website and I have a few questions I'd like some input on. First of all, I'm buying a 2000 Jeep Cherokee with about 76k miles in about 2 weeks and have a few ideas on what I want to do it to. I don't want to say everything because I will post pics on here when I'm done. I'm planning on lifting the jeep about 3in and putting on 31 or 32 inch tires with 20 inch rims, Don't worry, I'm not going to completly ghetto this thing out, I promise it will look great. Now I understand Putting those rims on will make it a pretty rough ride. Does everyone think it will be pretty rough? Any pointers on what I can buy to help make it a little smoother, I still want some nice tires so any recomendations? Also I don't really plan on off-roading much if any at all, this will just be a daily driver for me. I want to hear all input.

Thanks in advance
Old 03-24-2010, 03:05 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1996 Limited
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 5.2

The more meat on the tire the smoother the ride. So with 20's your not ganna have much tire. I would try and stay away from 20's but Its your rig. I would go with a hydrolic shock over a gas shock that will make it a little smoother.
Old 03-25-2010, 05:16 PM