Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Brake lights stuck on

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2019, 10:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0L
Default Brake lights stuck on

Hello all, new to the forum, hoping to find some answers here if someone's run in to a similar issue like mine. Normally I don't jump in like this, but imagine getting lost hiking in a forest somewhere without a map or compass, or anything to guide you, and no way of fishing. That's kind of how it's been! Now, onward?
This is possibly a unique issue, as vast internet searching on this has turned up dry on anything relevant for me at least.

The vehicle in question is a 2001 Cherokee Sport (4.0L, auto), I'm not an expert, and have gone as far as pulling the dash plastic apart (and is still apart) to find the root of the issue, to no avail.
The brake lights are stuck on as if the brakes were being pressed, so I have to keep disconnecting the battery, not much of a nuisance, but it would be nice to not have to do that every time. I've looked up videos and threads about a brake light switch (even going so far as to buy a new one), but found nothing specific on my year of Cherokee. I don't even see the thing they have in the videos under the dash at all, though I do see a spot for it there. There is no hanging wiring harness there either, so I am a bit stumped as to why this is happening. Before, the lights functioned normally. In addition to this, I no longer need to press the brake to shift the car out of park. It's just like the brake was being pressed all the time.

I have pulled the dash forward to search for a possible switch or harness, but no such thing did I see.

I have some photos to share as well.

Under dash, picture from brake pedal pad, facing upward