Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

back door rattle

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2010, 08:02 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default back door rattle

Whenever i take hit a bump in the road the back door moves and makes noise. while off roading this is extremly annoying because it sounds like the door isnt closed all the way but it is. I see the back door is on hinges at the top that im wondering if they can some how be tightened? I did replace the rubber stops near the midpart of the jeep, this helped but didnt solve the problem. Is there something else i can do about it?

I am new to Cherokee forum so this is my first time and would appricaite any responses. thanks
Old 01-20-2010, 08:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by esteem
Whenever i take hit a bump in the road the back door moves and makes noise. while off roading this is extremly annoying because it sounds like the door isnt closed all the way but it is. I see the back door is on hinges at the top that im wondering if they can some how be tightened? I did replace the rubber stops near the midpart of the jeep, this helped but didnt solve the problem. Is there something else i can do about it?

I am new to Cherokee forum so this is my first time and would appricaite any responses. thanks

Mine does the same thing. I didn't know that they were made out of fiberglass.
Old 01-20-2010, 08:23 PM
Seasoned Member

from what i know, they were made out of fiber glass until 96 or 97. mine is a 98 so i beleive it isnt. im not possitive thought
Old 01-20-2010, 08:26 PM

Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0L