Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

ac/heater problems need help

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2014, 10:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default ac/heater problems need help

My AC or heat is not working on any setting? I've replaced the switch, resistor, and fuse! i removed the blower motor and added power to it and its works fine! I'm also not getting any power to the motor after putting a ohm meter to the plug. is there any thing else i should be looking for or has anyone had the same problem?
Old 05-15-2014, 11:02 PM

Year: 2000
Engine: 2.5 L

What do you mean "AC" is not working. When i hear "AC" i think of AC compressor. If you are not getting any air flow out of the vents its a blower issue. I am new to forums but i am an ASE certified Technician.
I know to some people it doesn't mean much but i do work at a shop and electrical is what i do best so if you can give me some info Year Make Model and Engine size i can get a hold of a wiring diagram i might be able to guide you into fixing the problem and teach you a little about electrical diagnostics.
Old 05-15-2014, 11:16 PM

it is a 1996 cherokee 4.0 5 speed. im just not getting any air flow in any climate setting. the blower motor never kicks on!
Old 05-17-2014, 07:33 AM

Year: 2000
Engine: 2.5 L