Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

90 needs new engine

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2010, 09:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 90 needs new engine

Hi there.. My name is Setira and I am Ga. New to the forum and just bought a 90 XJ. I am not a mechanic but would like to learn how to work on the XJ.

After I bought the bad boy and drove it home. I took it to my buddy and found that it has a crack in the block by the freeze plug by the head, I was bit shocked it ran great and did not over heat.

So a new motor is in order. Here is the issue(s) that I am having. I only have about 2 grand to spend on a motor and found that rebuilt motor prices are 1600 to 2500 with core charge and shipping. Jasper motor was by far the most expensive, with most being in the 1600 range. I have the I6 4.0 what are some of my options and what are some of your opinions about who, where, or how should I acquire a new motor for the "ApocoWangon"

Thanks!
Old 04-05-2010, 10:03 AM
"CF Moderator"

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1994
Engine: l6 HO

Originally Posted by Setira
Hi there.. My name is Setira and I am Ga. New to the forum and just bought a 90 XJ. I am not a mechanic but would like to learn how to work on the XJ.

After I bought the bad boy and drove it home. I took it to my buddy and found that it has a crack in the block by the freeze plug by the head, I was bit shocked it ran great and did not over heat.