Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

2000 XJ Overdrive Issue

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2011, 03:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 2000 XJ Overdrive Issue

First off I'm a newbie here and would like to apologize for immediately asking a question before being an active member, I usually try not to be that guy

Also I tried to search for answers before starting a new thread for something that has probably already been covered somewhere but that dang search left me scratching my head....so here I am.

Here is the deal. I have a 2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport. 4X4, automatic 4.0.(140 K miles) I love, love, love my Jeep but the dang thing does not like overdrive. It shifts into it less than half of the time. I will give you guys the symptoms and hopefully you can help me out.

Like I said it is somewhat intermittent but after hitting highway speeds, it stays in top gear the majority of the time. So at 65'ish mph I'm at like 2800 rpm and when its working it drops down to just a little over 2K. It shifts smoothly into all gears and my fluid levels are good. I tend to think this is a sensor wacking out because I can trick it by shutting my XJ off while at HW speeds (convenient and safe, I know) and then turning it back on and it will immediately go into OD and work normally.

So I've been told two things, it could be the Throttle Position Sensor, or the Torque Converter Clutch Solenoid...... but I am not familiar with either of these so I was hoping that someone could point me in the right direction. Also is there 2 TPC's for the XJ? I read something about one for the PCM and one for the transmission? I guess I just don't have a clue about this stuff. If anyone has had the same issue/symptoms please help a fella out