Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

1987 XJ Excessive Rust, Problematic?

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2017, 02:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 1987 XJ Excessive Rust, Problematic?

Hey! I'm pretty new to car repair, so maybe this is a dumb question, but I figured I'd ask.

My husband, who is not a car nor jeep guy, has voiced his concerns on the amount of rust on the undercarriage of my 30-year-old jeep. Generally, I think a good amount of rust is to be expected, it IS 30 years old, so I'm not really all that concerned about it.

But for the sake of argument, does anyone have any suggestions/comments? Should I be concerned and take steps to sand off, inspect, and repaint the undercarriage?

I can post pictures in the morning if needed.

Also, any follow-up suggestions gladly accepted.
Old 08-25-2017, 02:57 AM
CF Veteran

Received 56 Likes on 41 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0l

Pictures first to judge how bad it is. If its surface rust it should be fine any rot and it would be concerning. If it is rot he has a good point about your safety. Rotted jeeps are literally death traps and one good hit and something very vital will give away. I.E Control arms, Mounting points of anything suspension related or your shackles. Take note of The recent pictures Jamurrin posted recently of his jeep he had to get rid of it because it had to much rot. Theres a limit, and to much rust and for safety reasons its best to get something else thats safer. Rot is nothing to play around with. To much rot like i said on vital parts like control arms one good hole or hit on the road and your tire can break off and you will lose control.

Ik im sounding ridiculous but its the truth.
Old 08-25-2017, 03:05 AM

Its certainly not THAT bad 😱😱😱😱 but I will post pictures tomorrow morning.
Old 08-25-2017, 03:12 AM