Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

'00 XJ Coolant Leak / Overheating Issues

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2018, 03:08 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0
Default '00 XJ Coolant Leak / Overheating Issues

So I have been fighting issues with leaks and overheating for a few months now and I am looking for some advice. I had a bad leak for awhile around the water pump and freeze plugs. I used K-Seal and to my surprise it sealed everything up really nice with no leaks for awhile. After a few weeks, I noticed it slightly leaking from the spot in the photo below which I believe is from the water pump seal. I let this go on for awhile and just kept adding water here and there. Well I started noticing the temp gauge getting hotter and hotter as the weeks went on while I idled in traffic and I started noticing that the coolant was getting foamy and was a bit milky which from what I'm reading is most likely a bad head gasket. Well within the past week, my Jeep has been making a tea kettle noise after driving for about 5 minutes in the morning. This normally goes away after a few minutes or when I press on the gas but will return when I left off the gas. I've had this problem before I put this sealant in and it would normally do this when all the water had leaked out so I would pull over as soon as I heard it and wait till it cools down and fill it up with water a be good to go until it leaks out again. Well since I put in the sealant, it's been doing this even with coolant in and from I've been reading, this could be a vacuum leak caused by a bad intake manifold gasket or an actual crack in the intake manifold itself. I was thinking that since I pretty much just had straight water in the radiator at this point that maybe the water was getting too hot and boiling which was causing the tea kettle n