Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Need to get my '01 XJ back on the road...

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2014, 02:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 L
Default Need to get my '01 XJ back on the road...

Forgive me Forum, for I have sinned.... My 2001 Cherokee has sat in my backyard for a loooooong time, over 2 years since I had it running daily. I am no pro or mechanic, but I do know that sitting idle like that is bad news. The reason I stopped driving it was that there were coolant fumes coming through, and with kids I just decided to drive my car until I got the Jeep repaired. Took it to a local shop and it failed the pressure test and the mechanic said it wasn't worth fixing as it COULD have engine issues, but reality is (I think) they didn't want to put time into diagnosing it.

My question to the Forum is what is the best approach to getting my Jeep back on the road? I thought of taking it to the Jeep dealer and letting them give me the run down, and then trying to fix things myself. Of course the battery is dead now, but once I give it a jump the engine starts every time (just gotta kill the wasps nesting in the door jamb). Sinny sin sin, I know. Thanks for any advice!

Oh, I am in PG County, Maryland in case any of you know of a good mechanic that may be able to give me the low down, thanks again.
Old 07-21-2014, 03:11 PM
CF Veteran

Received 298 Likes on 253 Posts
Year: '96

The only reason you stopped using it was because of coolant fumes? No overheating issues? If not the odor could be the heater core which for now could be bypassed. What's the color of the oil and coolant?
Old 07-22-2014, 10:24 AM