Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

94 Cherokee 4.0 starting/ timing issue

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2011, 07:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 94 Cherokee 4.0 starting/ timing issue

Hello new to this forum. Just so you all know, I am a mechanic with over 35 years of expirence working on cars. I know a lot about cars but this one really has me stumped. Im having an issue with a 94 cherokee country with the 4.0 engine in it. I need some advice from some experts with the 4.0 engine.

I bought this jeep about 4 weeks ago for only $300. It has 180,000 miles on it. It had been sitting for about 2 years. I aired up the tires, put in a new battery, & drove it home. It is in very good condition & even has Mickey Thompson wheels & BFG All Terrian T/As on it!

Since I am a mechanic, the first thing I did was clean it up & go over it to see what it would need to be reliable. I did a full tune up (plugs, cap, rotor, wires), changed the oil, changed the trans filter & fluid, changed the fuel filter, & put in a new air filter. I also cut the old battery connectors of & put new ones on so it would get a good connection.

I fixed a few other issues with the lights, put new fog light on, & checked the brakes. They were all new, so I didnt have to do them. The front end has been rebuilt at some time, so I greased all the zerts & checked the front end. It was tight.

I have been driving it ever since then & it has ran great! A few days ago I noticed it was dripping oil, so I checked it out & found out the distributor was leaking. I pulled out the distributor to replace the gasket underneath, & found oil inside of it. I decided to purchased a reman distributor & put it in.