The Debt Free Thread

Old 04-24-2018, 09:01 AM

Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default The Debt Free Thread

Spurred by a comment in another thread, I wanted to peel this one off into separate thread.

In 2004, I graduated college with $42,000 in credit cards and student loans, which was on the low-side-of-average for the time. My first job, with a masters degree in IT, was working for a bank for $29,000/yr.

I was so bad at finances, I actually used the available balance across my three credit cards as "income" some months. It was so bad, and so obvious, that my first boss once arranged for me to attend a training class in another part of the state so that the company would buy my food and gas for that week. We were paid monthly, and I had "too much month left at the end of the money." I was living about 300 miles from my family (who was also broke) so they couldn't really help me.

My sister's boyfriend gave me two Dave Ramsey cassette tapes for Christmas in 2004: Dumping Debt and Cash Flow Planning (Those links are for the 2011 CDs) and I listened to them on the 4 hour drive home.
Then I listened to them again.
Eventually, they were the only thing I listened to. I got real fired up. I got my **** together and started following the plan.

I stopped using cards entirely. I cut up all but one, which I encased an a block of ice in the freezer. It took 30 minutes of running hot water over the block to get the card out. No, I'm not kidding.
I started using cash for almost everything.
I budgeted for everything, spending all my money on paper. If I was going to go over in one area, I HAD to make it up somewhere else.