The IT BS Thread! - Page 4 - Jeep Cherokee Forum

Go Back  Jeep Cherokee Forum > General > Off-Topic Discussion
The IT BS Thread! >

The IT BS Thread!

The IT BS Thread!

Old 09-09-2013, 03:42 PM
  #46  
CF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
PocketsEmpty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: York, PA
Posts: 4,169
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default

Originally Posted by salad View Post
lol. Bull****. There's never the budget to do that!
Haha! I'll admit, I did NOT configure it with jumbo frames from the get-go. I was under a time crunch and afraid of any other problems that might have introduced, lol. We are a very small shop though, so it's fine.

And as for the Netapp system, we have a FAS2220. I've been very happy with it. We have a 2020 that is no longer in production but when it was, it had a solid uptime of 2.5 years--the previous techs never updated it during that timeframe. We've never had to touch it and never had any issues, and haven't with the new one either. It integrates VERY well with VMware, and deduplication is a pretty amazing feature. I'm sure we'd have been happy with an EMC or even a Dell system, but Netapp has been great, and their support is fantastic.
PocketsEmpty is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 03:47 PM
  #47  
Herp Derp Jerp
 
salad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Parham, ON
Posts: 18,251
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L OBD-II
Default

lol it seriously took me a week to figure out what vSphere even was. Eventually I saw something in the licensing section of the website that revealed that it was a term for a whole solution and not actually a standalone product...

vRAM
vCPU
vCenter
vSphere
vCloud
vSwitch
vFabric
vSAN
vMotion
vShield
vOhMyvGodMyvBrainIsvMelting

The corporate Kool-Aid is strong with this crowd.
salad is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 03:47 PM
  #48  
CF Veteran
 
McCaffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,250
Year: 1989
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default

I have to agree. VMware and Netapp support work very well together. No finger pointing.
McCaffrey is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 03:48 PM
  #49  
CF Veteran
 
sthon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: California
Posts: 2,570
Year: 1992
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 HO
Default

Originally Posted by PocketsEmpty View Post
Haha! I'll admit, I did NOT configure it with jumbo frames from the get-go. I was under a time crunch and afraid of any other problems that might have introduced, lol. We are a very small shop though, so it's fine.

And as for the Netapp system, we have a FAS2220. I've been very happy with it. We have a 2020 that is no longer in production but when it was, it had a solid uptime of 2.5 years--the previous techs never updated it during that timeframe. We've never had to touch it and never had any issues, and haven't with the new one either. It integrates VERY well with VMware, and deduplication is a pretty amazing feature. I'm sure we'd have been happy with an EMC or even a Dell system, but Netapp has been great, and their support is fantastic.
I got screwed on the Netapp support, we had the IBM branded N series. No access to the netapp tools, and horrible support from IBM.
sthon is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 03:53 PM
  #50  
CF Veteran
 
McCaffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,250
Year: 1989
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default

We used to have an IBM colo and every time I called for smart-hands they'd ask for something new.

Support: I need your customer ABC number.
Me: What's an ABC number? Just tell the tech to reboot system X. He knows me and will know what to do.
Support: OK.
Support calls back 20 minutes later: We need your ABC number.
Me, You mean nothing has been done for 20 minutes? ARRRRRGGGGGGGGG!!!!!
McCaffrey is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 03:54 PM
  #51  
Herp Derp Jerp
 
salad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Parham, ON
Posts: 18,251
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L OBD-II
Default

Originally Posted by PocketsEmpty View Post
Haha! I'll admit, I did NOT configure it with jumbo frames from the get-go. I was under a time crunch and afraid of any other problems that might have introduced, lol. We are a very small shop though, so it's fine.
Meh, it's really workload-specific. If your I/O hits aren't for huge chunks of data you won't see any benefit. Remember the wire operates at the same speed regardless, you're just reducing per-packet overhead. IMO a good switch with nice fat properly configured buffers is more important.

Originally Posted by PocketsEmpty View Post
And as for the Netapp system, we have a FAS2220. I've been very happy with it. We have a 2020 that is no longer in production but when it was, it had a solid uptime of 2.5 years--the previous techs never updated it during that timeframe. We've never had to touch it and never had any issues, and haven't with the new one either. It integrates VERY well with VMware, and deduplication is a pretty amazing feature. I'm sure we'd have been happy with an EMC or even a Dell system, but Netapp has been great, and their support is fantastic.
Nice. We were looking at the FAS2020 back in 2010 or 2009 or whenever, we saw the Compellent tiered storage as a bigger selling feature than dedupe.

We ended up with a 4 hour support contract too lol. One time one of the controllers blew lost a fan ouput. They sent some guy with an entire new chassis and swapped the whole thing for a 1"x1.5" Supermicro PCB lol
salad is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 03:55 PM
  #52  
Herp Derp Jerp
 
salad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Parham, ON
Posts: 18,251
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L OBD-II
Default

Originally Posted by sthon View Post
...we had the IBM branded...
Found your problem...

(btw I'm a happy user of the BladeCenter line of systems)
salad is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 03:59 PM
  #53  
CF Veteran
 
sthon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: California
Posts: 2,570
Year: 1992
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 HO
Default

Originally Posted by salad View Post

Found your problem...

(btw I'm a happy user of the BladeCenter line of systems)
I prefer HP blades
sthon is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 04:02 PM
  #54  
Herp Derp Jerp
 
salad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Parham, ON
Posts: 18,251
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L OBD-II
Default

No experience, we have a good relationship with the local IBM vendor and we're pretty happy with the gear. The remote KVM kinda sucks since it uses a 3- or 4-year-old Java implementation but meh.
salad is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 04:06 PM
  #55  
CF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
PocketsEmpty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: York, PA
Posts: 4,169
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default

To switch gears a little, has anyone had experience building a custom router? For enterprise or personal use? I used this software called Untangle, and built out this little box off of NewEgg using an old PlayStation 3 hard drive and a fan I had lying around. Untangle is great, and I won't look back! Love all of it's features. DD-WRT is also fantastic if anyone is familiar with these open-source solutions.

Name:  IMAG0917_zpsd88e6a1e.jpg
Views: 16
Size:  83.1 KB

Had this open to replace that fan since it crapped out. Didn't have a good one around to use, decided to go fanless. It's running pretty cool just with the heatsink, so no more extra noise in my living room!
PocketsEmpty is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 04:20 PM
  #56  
Herp Derp Jerp
 
salad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Parham, ON
Posts: 18,251
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L OBD-II
Default

Yeah sure. What do you want to know about Untangle? I ran it at home for a while on a Sempron 2800 2 GB and eventually got it installed here at the office. It's been very reliable at the office lol

Looks like you've got yourself one of those rack-mount Mini ITX kits.
salad is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 04:26 PM
  #57  
CF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
PocketsEmpty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: York, PA
Posts: 4,169
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default

Originally Posted by salad View Post
Yeah sure. What do you want to know about Untangle? I ran it at home for a while on a Sempron 2800 2 GB and eventually got it installed here at the office. It's been very reliable at the office lol

Looks like you've got yourself one of those rack-mount Mini ITX kits.
That's basically what it is. It didn't come with any mounting hardware, though. The only thing that chaps my *** about Untangle is that when you're in a configuration page, you have to hit Cancel, OK, or Apply before clicking anything else on the lefthand menu. A bit annoying. But other than that, it has been very reliable, and not too hard to figure out. When I get my home ESXi server running, I'll probably just virtualize it completely, and run everything off of one box
PocketsEmpty is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 04:52 PM
  #58  
CF Veteran
 
sthon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: California
Posts: 2,570
Year: 1992
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 HO
Default

Originally Posted by PocketsEmpty View Post
To switch gears a little, has anyone had experience building a custom router? For enterprise or personal use? I used this software called Untangle, and built out this little box off of NewEgg using an old PlayStation 3 hard drive and a fan I had lying around. Untangle is great, and I won't look back! Love all of it's features. DD-WRT is also fantastic if anyone is familiar with these open-source solutions.



Had this open to replace that fan since it crapped out. Didn't have a good one around to use, decided to go fanless. It's running pretty cool just with the heatsink, so no more extra noise in my living room!
I've used pfsense in the past. It's more of a firewall/NAT device than a router though. http://www.pfsense.org/
sthon is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 05:18 PM
  #59  
Herp Derp Jerp
 
salad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Parham, ON
Posts: 18,251
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L OBD-II
Default

Originally Posted by PocketsEmpty View Post
That's basically what it is. It didn't come with any mounting hardware, though. The only thing that chaps my *** about Untangle is that when you're in a configuration page, you have to hit Cancel, OK, or Apply before clicking anything else on the lefthand menu. A bit annoying. But other than that, it has been very reliable, and not too hard to figure out. When I get my home ESXi server running, I'll probably just virtualize it completely, and run everything off of one box
Haha yes. You also have to click outside of a text field before you can hit OK or Apply. There's a little bit of a learning curve to it. Sometimes finding just which module is blocking a web site (or even parts of a page) is a pain in the ****.

It behaves quite well in a VM environment. Loading up VMware Tools is a bit of a challenge. Untangle itself is a giant JVM with some fancy netfilter hacks. Underneath the Java (that's what the "alpaca" thing is) it's actually just modified Debian. It's straightforward enough to enable SSH, put a sane shell in for the root user, (yes, bash is available), and install packages from their own repositories. However I've managed to keep VMware Tools up to date on ours here with this method.

Originally Posted by sthon View Post
I've used pfsense in the past. It's more of a firewall/NAT device than a router though. http://www.pfsense.org/
Haven't heard that name a in a while! Friend of mine bought a tiny little AMD Geode system for the purpose of running pfsense. IIRC he had some problems with it (like 5 years ago now) and just moved to Tomato or DD-WRT - I think there was some problem with the PHP interface not behaving properly. I remember him complaining about the typical FOSS usability nightmare.
salad is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 05:21 PM
  #60  
CF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
PocketsEmpty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: York, PA
Posts: 4,169
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default

Originally Posted by salad View Post
Haha yes. You also have to click outside of a text field before you can hit OK or Apply. There's a little bit of a learning curve to it. Sometimes finding just which module is blocking a web site (or even parts of a page) is a pain in the ****.

It behaves quite well in a VM environment. Loading up VMware Tools is a bit of a challenge. Untangle itself is a giant JVM with some fancy netfilter hacks. Underneath the Java (that's what the "alpaca" thing is) it's actually just modified Debian. It's straightforward enough to enable SSH, put a sane shell in for the root user, (yes, bash is available), and install packages from their own repositories. However I've managed to keep VMware Tools up to date on ours here with this method.



Haven't heard that name a in a while! Friend of mine bought a tiny little AMD Geode system for the purpose of running pfsense. IIRC he had some problems with it (like 5 years ago now) and just moved to Tomato or DD-WRT - I think there was some problem with the PHP interface not behaving properly. I remember him complaining about the typical FOSS usability nightmare.
I've looked into enabling SSH on the Untangle, but haven't done it yet. Good to know that I can crack it open like that--wish the devs made that a little easier. Well, I know who to talk to when I'm trying to set that all up!
PocketsEmpty is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: The IT BS Thread!


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: