Aftermarket electrical systems Aftermarket electronics only! stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

replacing factory radio with a sony

Old 10-31-2016, 09:36 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bethel, Ak
Posts: 96
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.7 v8...
Default replacing factory radio with a sony


Evening,
I have an 01 Wj with the infinity system. Can anyone tell me what is the point of the yellow/green lead on the factory radio? I bought an Oem-1 and spliced the harness as directed by the diagrams. My deck gets power, but no sound, also the yellow with a green stripe is flopping around. Any help would be awesome.

Last edited by rivman05; 10-31-2016 at 09:41 PM.
rivman05 is offline  
Old 11-01-2016, 09:56 AM
  #2  
CF Veteran
 
Fred/N0AZZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Monett, MO.
Posts: 7,554
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default

Did you purchase the correct connectors so the radio will connect direct to the factory wiring? If not I would suggest you do so to gain some of the controls of the steering wheel and others.
Fred/N0AZZ is offline  
Old 11-01-2016, 03:58 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bethel, Ak
Posts: 96
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.7 v8...
Default

Yes I did. I got it figured out. Mods can you please close/delete this thread?
rivman05 is offline  
Old 11-02-2016, 09:44 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
94zj318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 539
Year: 2002
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L (AMC) Straight Six
Default

Glad you got it figured out.

Was that plug for the factory steering wheel remote radio controls? And what is the small black plug for? I'm just asking for reference.
94zj318 is offline  
Old 11-03-2016, 11:22 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bethel, Ak
Posts: 96
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.7 v8...
Default

Haven't tried the steering wheel controls (didn't actually know they were there till about 3 weeks ago, and don't use them that often), but the all black plug square is a ground that clipped to a tab on the back of the stock head unit.
rivman05 is offline  
Old 11-03-2016, 11:06 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
94zj318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 539
Year: 2002
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L (AMC) Straight Six
Default

Yeah my '02 doesn't have a ground for the radio, it's integrated somehow into the main power/speaker wiring harness... again they changed the wiring in 2002 and I've never dealt with a 1999-2001 model before, so I wouldn't know myself. The ground on my old 1994 was a spade clipped onto the radio, but when I replaced the radio I just taped over it with electrical tape and didn't connect it.

For the steering wheel controls, you either use 'em or you don't. In your case, since the adapter would be at least $50 (it's a pretty basic self-learning module that's basically plug-'n'-play with some minor wiring required, since the system in the Jeep for the steering wheel controls is pretty basic itself), so since you don't use 'em, I wouldn't bother much... my '02 WJ is a Laredo "E" Package, and the only option from the factory was the A/M-F/M-Tape-CD radio, which I promptly replaced with a Kenwood HD Radio/Bluetooth/SiriusXM Satellite Radio unit right after I bought the Jeep. Therefore, it just has 2 blanks on the back of the steering wheel covered by panels where the controls would be if I had them... my dad's '14 WK2 has them, our '05 WK had them, and our '99 and other '02 WJ's had them. I've never personally had them in a vehicle myself, but they're nice to have but tedious to use sometimes.

Last edited by 94zj318; 11-03-2016 at 11:09 PM.
94zj318 is offline  
Old 11-04-2016, 11:55 AM
  #7  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bethel, Ak
Posts: 96
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.7 v8...
Default

Yeah the black wire is a spade connector that did clip onto the back of the factory unit. I just put a flat spade on it and used it, as it was already a ground, no reason to have to re-invent the wheel for grounding it. Worked out great.
rivman05 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: