Vintage 2-Dr XJ from Kansas

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2018, 10:39 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1992
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0L HO
Default Vintage 2-Dr XJ from Kansas

Hello everyone and thanks for having me! I'm new to XJ's, but not new to building extreme vehicles. Ever since I saw Goonies when I was 10, I just wanted a Cherokee. I came across this rust free, pretty cherry 2-dr and had to own it.

I want to keep it era appropriate so I won't be doing anything too crazy, that's what my Raptor is for. My plans are as follows:

-I'm currently fabricating a stainless 2-bar push guard and I'll have some amber fog lights on it.
-I NEED SOME TAIL LIGHT GUARDS PLEASE!! I'll sand blast them and chrome them as well to match the rest of the jeep.
-I'm going to do just a simple 2" lift, replacing all the shocks and possible the rear leaf packs if they are as saggy as I think.
-I've ordered some 15x8" American Racing Outlaw II wheels and BF Goodrich 31".
-It goes in for fresh tint next week and then I'll start replacing the door speakers since they are still factory. I'm going to keep them hidden behind the original Jensen grills.
-Other than that, it will be just maintenance to make sure this thing is a cruiser for weekends or lake trips.

Anyways, onto the pics... look at that cordovan red!

I've already replaced the missing chrome cherokee emblem.

I ditched the walmart steering wheel cover and floor mats. I've got proper Cordovan burgundy floor mats coming.

I also added the proper cup holder (modified to fit yeti's of course).
Old 05-25-2018, 04:57 PM
CF Veteran

Received 374 Likes on 294 Posts
Year: 1987

Welcome to the forum. That is one nice VERY clean XJ you found!
Old 05-29-2018, 04:41 PM

Originally Posted by 5-Speed
Welcome to the forum. That is one nice VERY clean XJ you found!
Thank you sir! I actually scored it in Denver and drove it back 8 hours @75mph without a hiccup.