Noob XJ owner with oil leak - Illinois

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2017, 05:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Noob XJ owner with oil leak - Illinois

So I just got a 2000 XJ with 160K and the inline 6. I am not very mechanically inclined but I am trying to learn. As I have heard the XJs are pretty easy to work on, I thought I would give it a whirl. I can change the oil and I just replaced two window regulators, but most of the stuff I have done is pretty low risk in terms of costly damage if I botch it.

I am new to the whole forum concept also forgive me if I post stuff in the wrong places. The first question I wanted to ask was about the oil leak on my car. Most research I have done suggests rear main seal, valve cover gasket or the oil filter adapter but my leak is at the front of the engine and it doesn't seem to coming from the valve cover.

I have read people say most jeeps leak and it's not a huge issue usually. Mine has leaked about half a quart over the passed 3 weeks (under 1000 miles). Should I be concerned about it this? I read something about the harmonic balancer can go bad and that can mess up your crankshaft pulley seal, but I don't know all the parts so that could be complete non sense.

Any ideas how to figure out where the leak is coming from, aside from just wiping all the oil away?

Where should I post questions like this?

Thanks d00dz
​​
Old 08-16-2017, 08:46 PM
CF Veteran

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Year: 1992
Engine: 4.0L H.O.

That is very likely the front main seal(behind the harmonic damper). You'll need that, and gaskets for the water pump and timing cover. Not a bad idea to do the oil pan gasket and water pump at this time. And the timing chain. And the oil pump.

Believe me, this is not something you're going to enjoy taking apart twice. ALL the parts listed above will only come out to about $250.

Either way, doing that seal means tearing it down at least this far...