New here, new to Cherokee

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2018, 11:10 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: 4.0L 6IL
Talking New here, new to Cherokee

Well, just registered as I have become the new owner of a 1999 Jeep Cherokee down in Quito, Ecuador.

I have been working on my cars for 35+ years and forums are always a great source of information and guidance.

To start, I need help to identify the precise model. I know it is a 1999 Cherokee built in Venezuela. It is Automatic and has the 4.0L Engine.
It has the lever selection for 2WD and 4WD. 4 Doors and rear hatch. Spare in the rear cargo area. What I don't know if it is SJ, ??
I loaded an album with pictures inside and out. I tried to decode the SN but yielded strange results as it is an international SN.
Any guidance appreciated.

I will be reading around for a while. It seems to be running fine and has no immediate repairs needed. As Quito is up in the mountains, I want to make sure the transmission is working good, the 4WD operation is good. Suspension seems great. I will be looking to relocate the spare out of the trunk space if possible, maybe to the roof.

Thanks ahead for all the help. :-)

Sergio
Old 01-13-2018, 11:35 AM

Already noted it should be an XJ by the year (1999)

I think it is a Sport trim : A/C, aftermarket radio byut has speakers on all doors and upper rear balance facing forward that look OEM
Also note the wheels, not sure if OEM or aftermarket, seem OEM.
It has rear bumper distance warning, not sure if OEM.

Sorry, adding info to help ID.

Sergio
Old 01-13-2018, 12:06 PM
CF Veteran

Received 249 Likes on 199 Posts
Engine: I6 4.0L

Welcome to the forum and the Jeep family... lots of good info to be had here... poke around and ask questions.
Old 01-13-2018, 12:15 PM
CF Veteran