Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2016, 04:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4L I6
Default Just picked up an XJ!

Hey everyone,

I'm new to Jeeps and just bought a 2000 XJ Sport with 170k. I've been a BMW guy my whole life, I bought an E36 when I was 16 and it's been my daily and project car ever since. I just graduated college and I'm about to move to Pittsburgh, so it was time to retire the BMW as my daily. Something about boxy 90's design and inline 6's has me coming back for more!

I think it's in great shape considering it's age, mileage, and price that I paid. I half-expected these to drive like farm equipment but I was pleasantly surprised. The shocks are original and desperately need replaced, but other than that it seems quite mechanically sound. The paint is kind of beat, the interior is nice with the exception of the front seats and headliner, and - the best part about it - there's no rust underneath. The engine warms up fine but the heat is pretty weak. I bought this to be a reliable and comfortable winter daily and I don't want it to turn into a money pit. The following list is made up of things I plan on doing to it. Please feel free to give me some suggestions!

235 Nexen All-Terrains (already bought & mounted)
Eibach OE replacement shocks (already bought, not yet installed - good call?)
Remote Start
LED headlights
Fix the heat
Address the headliner (maybe)
Replace the front seats (maybe)
And keep it running!

Thanks for looking and I'm excited to be a member here!

- Geoff

Last edited by gpr5027; 12-19-2016 at 04:17 PM.
Old 12-19-2016, 05:03 PM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0

Welcome to the forum. Nice looking Jeep you have there. Looks like you're off to a good start as long as you keep up with regular maintenance these things will run forever. With that said do a little reading on the 0331 head. Some have no issues, some do as long as you keep a good eye on it you should be good.