Finally bought a jeep!

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2018, 11:31 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1992
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0 HO
Default Finally bought a jeep!

Hello all, my name is David Ramirez and I'm glad to be here! Let me start with a brief history and work our way to the present. As a young boy I had 1 passion, cars. I spent my preteen years scouring hot rod magazine and Patterson 4wheel and off road magazine and fell in love with 2 vehicles, the venerable 1970 chevelle ss and the glorious xj! Well, as the years went on my tastes and interests changed but I never gave up the love I had for those two vehicles. Due to the people I grew up with I tended to lean more towards the go fast pavement crowd and less of the off road stuff and until recently never even owned a 4wd vehicle! (I almost can't believe that now lol) what brought that love back was my job, I'm a heavy equipment operator and the job sites we go to often have less than forgiving roads leading to them and my 2wd 2500 ram wasn't cutting it, the transmission went out and so I went in search of a 4x4. At this point it was purely out of necessity, I had no dirt bound aspirations other than getting to my paycheck. So I bought a 2001 eddie bauer ford explorer and I simply fell in love. I know this is a jeep forum but the ford explorer, at least the first 2 generations of them, are extremely capable off road, so much so that it's hard to believe the lack of aftermarket support for them, especially the generation I own. Anyway I bought some bigger duratracs and one day while driving home got the wild hair to run down the river bed (the only off roading available near me) and I was hooked. I started planning on some sort of lift and a winch and all the goodies, most of which I'd have to build myself. Now this explorer has close to 200 thousand miles and being a mechanic I can tell the tranny is probably only gonna give me another 50,000 if I'm lucky so of course that got factored into the