Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What type of diff lockers to use?

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2017, 05:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default What type of diff lockers to use?

Hi I'm new to the form and to off roading in general. with the exception of atvs. I'm wanting to get a jeep cherokee to use as a trail rig. It will not be used on the street at all. so my main question is what type of locker to use in front and rear axles without spending a ton of money. From what i have read a detroit locker looks to be the best option for me as far as the rear goes but I'm not sure if its best for the front? Any info you guys can give me will be much appertained!

Also im not sure on what kind of trails are around me. I'm in central Illinois and i know the badlands off road park Attica, IN is somewhat close as well as the cliffs off-road park inMarseilles, IL. I'm just looking to do some slow crawling type of wheeling. not so much mud pit.
Old 02-02-2017, 05:35 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4L, 6 cylinder, 190 hp, 225 ft lp torque

The cheapest way to lock your differentials is to weld the spider gears together. If you are going to install lockers, lunch box (auto) lockers are the least expensive. I run lunch box lockers front and rear with no problems as far as drive-ability. Good luck and have fun with the project.
Old 02-02-2017, 08:45 PM

Year: 1993
Engine: 4.0L

Not trying to hijack your thread 38Kc but i was going to ask about locking diffs as well and stumbled upon this. The lunch box locker would that be a good choice for a winter daily and summer/fall/spring trail rig? and is it best to lock only the rear or to lock the front as well or only one? I have a 3inch lift and will be putting either 31 kO2s or 32 KO2s
Old 02-03-2017, 02:50 AM