Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2011, 01:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1992
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default upgrades

I am not new to vehicle upgrades, but i am new to jeeps. i bought a decent 92 XJ for about $1300. It needs work though. its got the 4.0 auto tranny. does anyone have any advice on what are mandatory upgrades or where i should start with this pig. i want to take it to the hills and through snow but nothing too serious. mainly hunting, camping, fishing, shooting and also drive it to work. im in the military so i drive to work everyday and i stay on base. any suggestions would help. thanks
alex
Old 07-20-2011, 01:36 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1999.
Engine: 4.0, I6

3-4" lift 31" tires tcase drop kit would be my first suggestions for you
Old 07-20-2011, 01:40 PM
CF Veteran

I would suggest decent tires, front bumper, hi clearence winch one preferred so you can mount a winch under the rad out of the way.

Reasoning: Hunting/fishing is generally done with one vehicle and you dont want to get stuck and not be able to get yourself out so a winch is a must. If you dont want to mod to fit the winch under the rad I'd suggest a bumper that has a reciever up front so you can put your winch in the reciever. Tires will keep you from getting stuck.

If you care about flares and making it pretty then 30s are all you can run stock if you trim a bit of your plastic flares. 31s will fit nicely if you dont mind trimming some sheet metal just a bit and switching your lower control arms to ones from a WJ.

Personally I use mine for basic wheeling, fishing, camping etc. and I love having a nice low Center of gravity and 31" tires.

You dont need the lift with 31s and trimming btw. Either way I suggest wheeling stock first to learn how to wheel.
Old 07-20-2011, 01:42 PM