Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stroke the motor???

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2011, 10:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1993
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 straight 6
Default Stroke the motor???

http://www.rockcrawler.com/techrepor...er40/index.asp

What do you all think about this article? I spoke to this guy at the local pits down here and he stroked his wrangler and said it brought his engine beyond resurrection and it wasnt as much as one would think. So have anyone heard of this? Any problems? What is all going to be needed?
Old 10-14-2011, 10:26 PM
CF Veteran

Google Jeep stroker. you'll have a years worth of reading before attempting anything of this nature.

This is one of those situations that if you're asking, you probably shouldnt attempt it.

I've been working on jeeps for 12 years now, however I've only torn apart two engines and I personally wouldnt attempt it.

If you want to get a shop to do it by all means, its a great option.
Old 10-14-2011, 10:30 PM

Year: 2001
Engine: 4.0

SEARCH!

Its been done, lots and lots and lots of times. www.jeepstroker.com

The search button on this forum is an amazing tool, and its ok that some people dont know how to use it, but you couldve put "jeep stroker" in a google search box just as easy as posting a new thread.
Old 10-14-2011, 10:30 PM

Oh sorry I didnt really clarify that... Yes a shop will be doing it but is it worth stroking it or should i just rebuild it with better pistons or purchase a "newer" engine for some more power
Old 10-14-2011, 10:32 PM

Oh no I have... I just want to see if anyone has hands on experience in the forums so i can wrap my hands around a real number and real experience not some random guy that doesnt want to feel dumb stroking the motor if it was useless, you know?
Old 10-14-2011, 10:37 PM

Originally Posted by gatorbait