Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

rusted shackle mounts. need help!

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2012, 08:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 96
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 high output
Default rusted shackle mounts. need help!

Hey guys my name is Nate and I am new to cherokee forum.
Let me start off by telling you my plans for my xj. Im going with a 6 1/2 rough country lift on 35" bfg mud terrains. I want all the body armoe and skid plates regeared and locked axles with chromolly shafts. I want it all and im ready to pay the price. This baby will see it all froms casual woods trails, mud, rocks, but also pavement because for now this is gunna be my dd.

Okay so here's the deal. I was so pumped to build this thing I think I rushed it to much when I bought it. I bought a 96 classic with 110k drives good. The floor boards were all rusted through but I figured it wasn't a big deal. But when I started to get to wrenching and doing the lift I noticed some more. The leaf spring mounts where the lift shackles go are rusted. On both sides the rear corner of the floor (like under the tail lights) is completley rusted through. On the passenger side the mount itself can be broken off and also there is a spot on the frame rail that is rusted.
I did some research and alot of it says find a new xj. Im in to much money for that to be an option, besides I hate the idea of giving up on any xj. I have acess to a car lift, grinders all kinds of metal and a buddy who is a great welder. I need to replace floors anyway.

What can I do? Any help at all is greatly apreciated? I can post pics later.
Old 01-05-2012, 09:12 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1995
Engine: 4.0L HO

Pics will help, but most anything can be repaired if you're willing to do it. Might take major surgery, but it's do-able.