Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Xj owner. Trying to plan my build before I start. Any advice?

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2014, 04:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Talking New Xj owner. Trying to plan my build before I start. Any advice?

Hey guys, Blake from San Diego here. After a couple bad decisions that resulted in 2 DUI's and 2 totaled cars, I finally have a car again! I am not (legally) allowed to drive it yet, so I figure now's a better time than ever to start stocking up on parts. I don't like buying things more than once, so I'm doing my research to make sure I'm buying the correct parts in the correct order. However, I am by no means an automotive expert, so any tips, tricks, or advice would be greatly appreciated.

A few weeks ago I bought a 1999 Cherokee Classic 4x4 with 125,XXX miles. As far as I know, it is completely stock other than a 2 inch lift (I'm assuming with a new coil/AAL). This will be my DD for a while but I want to do a significant amount of work to it. Here is a list of some modifications I plan on doing to it and some questions that I have.

Skidplates - Other than expensive aftermarket ones, what will fit?
Headlights - I just purchased some of the retrofit projectors from a member on here with the bulbs, ballasts, and wiring harness needed to install. Since most people recommend upgrading the factory harness, is this necessary with HIDs? I was told that because HID's pull far less power than halogen bulbs that the factory harness should have no problem. Is this true?