Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

new gear ratio help!!

Old 05-29-2012, 01:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1988
Model: Cherokee
Engine: straight six
Default new gear ratio help!!

im new to all this and im going to be lifting my 88 cherokee pioneer and i want to do it right. i understand i need to regear to 410s or 411s to ru my 32s but i dont know all wat i need? i know i need the gears but wat else? also i was wondering if there was a sye u can install without using the hack and tap method?
need lots of help!!plz!!
Old 05-29-2012, 01:12 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 99
Engine: 4.0

I'd be less concerned with gears for running 32's and more concerned with knowing about steering and driveline changes that go with lifting. There's lots of good info on here already. I'm sure this tread will generate some of its own answers, but for the mean time do some searchin!!

Edit- NO! You do not NEED to regear for the tires in mind. Also, your doing a small amount of gear ratio change for a (generally) high price..

Last edited by VTJeep; 05-29-2012 at 01:15 PM.
Old 05-29-2012, 01:15 PM
CF Veteran

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Year: 1987
Engine: Check

You can do a slip yoke eliminator without using the HnT method.
Old 05-29-2012, 04:32 PM

Year: 1993
Engine: 4.0 HO

Originally Posted by VTJeep
I'd be less concerned with gears for running 32's and more concerned with knowing about steering and driveline changes that go with lifting. There's lots of good info on here already. I'm sure this tread will generate some of its own answers, but for the mean time do some searchin!!

Edit- NO! You do not NEED to regear for the tires in mind. Also, your doing a small amount of gear ratio change for a (generally) high price..