Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

In need of snorkel help

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2016, 10:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default In need of snorkel help

Well i somehow became the owner of a cheap chinese snorkel that my buddy gave me. The only problem i have with it is i don't have the air box adaptor and the hose from the box to the snorkel. I was hoping someone knew where i could get those two things from, there's a number on the snorkel that reads "SJXJA". I was also hopin someone had advise for cuttin the hole, i've never done this before.

Thanks in advance,
Redwolf
Old 07-03-2016, 11:35 AM
CF Veteran

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Year: 1999

The parts you can piece together going cheap plastic or higher silicone tube like for a turbo.

Cutting the hole that kit came with a template that you taped to the fender and then cut the hole with a hole saw. It going to be some guess work on that.
Old 07-04-2016, 03:13 AM
CF Veteran

Or buy another cheapo one off ebay and use it for parts.
Old 07-04-2016, 06:54 AM
THE Admin

Received 231 Likes on 187 Posts
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.Slow

It was cheaper and easier than i thought to install.
Attached Thumbnails In need of snorkel help-20160702_201320.jpg  
Old 07-04-2016, 07:10 AM
CF Veteran

Received 94 Likes on 85 Posts
Year: 1990, 1999, 2000

i had to oblong the round hole in the fender so that the snorkel tube would fit and sit flat against the fender. at least that part doesn't have to be water tight. so get the general placement and cut so it fits.

as for the tube, you could use what fred suggested. mine came with a flex tube, kinda like a dryer hose.

as for the air box adapter, i'm sure you could use plumbing adapters and just use JB quick resin, to hold it and cover that with silicone to waterproof it.
Old 07-04-2016, 11:25 AM