Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need Help

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2014, 05:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Need Help

Just bought a 1996 Cherokee XJ with 56,000 original miles for my kid and looking to do a 3" lift to accommodate 31's. I was looking at the Rustys 3" kit with full leaf replacement, shocks, new coils. Rustys is saying I don't need to replace the control arms and doesn't mention the track bar.

Talking with a local dealer, they suggest replacing the control arms and lowering the track bar. Additionally, they're saying to do an add-a-leaf and not replace the rear leafs. Basically says their kit is incomplete. I'm new to this but want it done right. My son won't be doing any hardcore off roaming.

Any suggestions or thoughts would be appreciated.
Old 01-24-2014, 05:49 PM
::Regional Moderator::

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Year: 1986
Engine: 2.8

Originally Posted by Astardriver
Just bought a 1996 Cherokee XJ with 56,000 original miles for my kid and looking to do a 3" lift to accommodate 31's. I was looking at the Rustys 3" kit with full leaf replacement, shocks, new coils. Rustys is saying I don't need to replace the control arms and doesn't mention the track bar.

Talking with a local dealer, they suggest replacing the control arms and lowering the track bar. Additionally, they're saying to do an add-a-leaf and not replace the rear leafs. Basically says their kit is incomplete. I'm new to this but want it done right. My son won't be doing any hardcore off roaming.

Any suggestions or thoughts would be appreciated.
My Waggy has the Rusty's lift on it with full leaf packs, stock lowers and stock trackbar.

My '00 has a Zone lift on it with full leaf packs, aftermarket lowers, and adjustable trackbar.