Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need DETAILED information on a lift

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2011, 01:09 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Need DETAILED information on a lift

'00 XJ Sport (4x4 of course)

2" or 3" lift kit... I need to know EVERYTHING.

I asked before and was told "yeah all you need is the kit from (insert company here) it comes with everything, then I'm told by someone else that I might need to relocate track bar mounts, etc... so in other words, the kit DOESN'T come with everything.

Look, I've never lifted a vehicle before. I know my way around a car, but I'm completely new to this, and lifting my XJ will be my first experience.

I need to know every last little shred of information for what it takes to properly lift an XJ 2 to 3 inches. I mean, please do not spare any details.

I don't want to get 90% done with the job and run into an issue where "Well, that was just sort of self-evident"... it might've been self evident to someone who has lifted a vehicle before.

So, what do I need?

Here's what I THINK I need for a 2 to 3 inch lift:

-Front and back shock absorbers
-Coil springs, leaf springs (mine are sagging, need to replace anyway)
-Leaf shackles
-Extended Track Bars? I was told I'd need this, or to relocate the mounting hole... Is this true?
-Longer u-bolts

Is that all right? Any longer brake lines? Hoses? Bolts? What bolts might break? Do I need bushings?

Please guys, help out a fellow Jeeper.
Old 12-14-2011, 01:21 PM

If you go with a rough country series 2 lift you will get everything you need, and upgrade it from a add a leaf to full leaf springs. Thats what I got and you don't need to buy shackles with the kit. I added a transfer case drop a little later, I had a little vibration and lowered the TC 1 inch and I have know vibration. Hope this helps.