Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Long Arm Upgrade Help

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2014, 03:55 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Long Arm Upgrade Help

Hey everyone - I need some help determining which long arm kit to go with. I'll try to be brief and list current set up and what I'm trying to accomplish.

I bought the jeep with a 4.5" lift on it that needs to be replaced (ride quality and off road capabilities suck). I have 33x12.50s with no fenders and t-case drop at the moment with no issues. I've determined to just purchase a full long arm kit to replace whatever is currently on the jeep. I've read on just about every jeep forum about Clayton, Serious, Iron Rock, RE, RC, and Rock Krawler. What I can't figure out is whether I should go with a 3-link or radius. I'm new to suspension talk so please be as non-technical as possible.

My goals are be able to daily drive it and also take it off road to trails with a combination of rock and mud. I am not planning to be indestructible but I would like all around capabilities. Staying at 4.5" would be ideal, but going up an 1" won't matter. Price is a consideration since I will be needing armor, sye, driveshaft, and frame stiffeners I'm sure. With that in mind, can someone help provide a recommendation and why?

Thanks!!
Old 09-04-2014, 04:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm saving for Clayton, and in the same situation as you basically.. I have a 4.5" RC lift with drop brackets.

I want a three link because of additional security. I've never seen/heard of a radius arm failing, but it only connects to unibody at 2 spots, seems a third would be better. On top of the unloading issue which may or may not actually be an issue.