Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lift question

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2012, 06:02 PM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default Lift question

Ok alright, before you say it, I know.. there's already a million threads out there about the same topic, but trust me I've been reading for the past couple weeks a couple hours every day and still gathered up a few questions.

So sorry if you've already seen similar threads!

My cherokee is used as a daily driver. i have little to no experience in mechanic but after getting that baby, I can't stop thinking about lifting it. (I want to get some experience, but fear I don't have the necessary tools (and knowledge) to do so, so I would probably get it installed by someone)
So since it's a dd, I'm not looking for that super lift with 33"+ wheels and so on. What I want to know is, basically, for a daily driver but also some off road, main reason why I wanna lift, what would suit me the best. I'm looking around, and from what I can understand, Rubicon Express has the upper hand on Rough Country. Is it worth it to spend more $$ for RE or it's useless because I'm not a hardcore offroader and RC would good? Then comes the height question. 3.5"? 4.5"? Definitely I want a better look than stock, but what height is too much when used on the road?
Then finally, do I need to go with the leaf springs or add-a-leaf would be alright?

If you have any other suggestion or something to add, go ahead!

Thanks for the help, and sorry again if this looks like other threads!
Old 05-18-2012, 06:13 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 99
Engine: 4.0