Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HELP..Bedliner? Herculiner, rhinoline, blazeh blazeh

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2011, 01:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I-6
Default HELP..Bedliner? Herculiner, rhinoline, blazeh blazeh

So i want to coat my xj in bedliner from the pin stripe down. can anyone tell me the best way to do this. What is the best product? Can i use the spray on bedliner out of a can? What prep work needs to be done besides taping off what i dont want lined? Im new to the whole "paint and body" thing. Can anyone help? THANKS
Old 05-26-2011, 01:26 AM

Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0

I did my WHOLE Jeep in bed liner, easy as pie. Wire wheel attachement, drill or some other tool to put the wire wheel on.

Scuff up the paint really good with the wire wheel, wash off with a cleaner that won't leave any residue (they make a paint/cleaner prep) and roll on the bed liner. I found the roll on went the easiest. I used the walmart bedliner, at the time it was made by Plasti-Kote I think, but now they carry Rustoleum brand I think. I have had it on for over a year now, and have noticed no fading. I would suggest getting a cheap little plastic tray to put the paint in and a FUR (not foam) roller to put it on, max of only 3inches in length, anything more, and you may have a harder time getting into the smaller areas. Reason to go fur and not foam, I have read that people had problems with bits of foam coming off into the liner after some use. Also get a few little cheap brushes to get the knooks and crannies. If you plan on doing this over a day or 2, get multiple rolelrs, paint pans, and brushes as the stuff doesn't wash up easy, and the cheap plastic stuff is cheap enough to buy multiple.