Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Front full axle removal help.

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2014, 08:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Front full axle removal help.

Hey guys, I had a wobble in my 96 xj and took it into my local shop to see if they could help me out and they have made it worse. They have drilled a second hole in my track bar bracket and welded a plate on the top side of the bracket and now I can't even use the stock hole and it's made everything worse. I'm going to attempt to take the front out and swap it with another stock Oneida have and start fresh. I was just wondering if there was a step by step/video/ how to for taking it out? I'm new to all of this and honestly scares the shi* out of me haha. Reminds me of doing my first tattoo. Here is a pic of what I got back , hard to see but there is a plate welded on top so the track bar physically can't go back in the stock hole.
Name:  IMAG2559_zps7297af7a.jpg
Views: 19
Size:  87.2 KB

Any help would be appreciated and help this Aussie out.
Old 02-28-2014, 08:58 AM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1993
Engine: 4.0

Undo brakes, sway bar, control arms, steering, track bar, diff vent and driveshaft. Then take the new and reverse everything
Old 02-28-2014, 09:04 AM
CF Veteran

Received 12 Likes on 8 Posts
Year: 1999 XJ
Engine: I6 4.0L

Before you remove it, though, you should know that isn't so far-fetched of a fix. When you lift above a certain height, you either need to get an adjustable track bar or relocate it by moving the eyelet closer to the stock track bar's opposite end. Wobbles are often caused by an offset front axle. Your track bar holds the axle from moving left and right. That may have been their fix to re-center it.