Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Frame Stiffening, New Floors and 2x6 Rockers

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2011, 09:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Frame Stiffening, New Floors and 2x6 Rockers

So here's what I have and some plans for it.

I just recently bought a 92 Sport 4 door with some major rust. I think the kids I bought it from trucked it around the farm and rolled it on it's side. Anyways, I am in the process of removing the floors and making plans on how to move forward. I am planning on putting some frame stiffeners on, but am unsure which brand or a DIY. I am new to fab, but I paid so little for this thing I honestly am not worried about junking it (of course would rather not ). I am leaning toward a DIY 3/16 3x3 angle iron welded from the front back to the leaf mounts. The bend near the crossmember I was going to accommodate by cutting the angle iron into 3 pieces with proper angles cut to allow it to be welded into one length, will this be too weak? I also may end up using some 1/4" 4x4 which I am concerned may both be too thick for my welder and to big to fit properly, any input on this?