Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fog light routing

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2011, 09:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L HO
Default Fog light routing

Ok, so forgive me if I'm starting a thread that has been posted before (I have searched and found pieces/parts of the answer I am looking for so I'm trying to find it all together, lol). Also, if this should be moved to another location, by all means.

Ok, so to the question. I have a set of fog lights that were installed on my Jeep before I bought it. The question I have, and I'm an electrical noob, is...is there anyway to wire the fog lights to where they will come on with the high beams AND!!! still be able to be manually switched on from the switch that is on the console. If so, could someone explain the wiring, fuses, relays, all of that stuff on how to wire it up and not catch it on fire or burn everything up, lol.

Thanks in advance.
Old 04-08-2011, 10:53 PM

Year: '88 trail rig, '01 D.D.

You could but you may want to check your state laws. Here in Texas it is illegal to run an axilery light and brights at the same time.
Old 04-09-2011, 09:54 AM
Seasoned Member

Engine: 4.0

simplest & easiest way, run 1 wire from + of the battery to an inline fuse (fuse ampacity depends on the wattage/number of ur fogs) then to the fog light switch....from the other side of the switch, to the black/positive of the fogs....white/neutral from the fogs, just ground them to the chassis or the - battery (electrically the same)

the center console in our 98, IMO, is EXTREMELY easy to access, the surrounding HVAC control/radio/air vent bezel just pops off, 3 screws on the 12v plug-in/cigarette lighter/switches mount, & ur in

best wire route to go, would be driver side firewall....u can try passenger, its possible, but a royal PITA
Old 04-09-2011, 11:01 AM