Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Driver's side front tire sticking out further than passenger's side

Old 02-12-2013, 01:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Driver's side front tire sticking out further than passenger's side

Hey all I am pretty new to the Jeep scene. I bought a 95 XJ about a year ago after getting stationed here in Maryland, but only had it running for about 6-8 months (numerous headaches). I recently put on a Zone Off road 3" suspension lift with new rear leaf springs, and 31" Mickey Thompson MTZ's. Everything seemed to be going smoothly I've had it on for about a month and a half, however I hit a parking lot curb last week (ice) I didn't hit it straight on but more on the side of the passenger front tire. Now like the title says the driver's side front is sticking out a little farther, and I have a noticeably rougher ride and slight wobbling at about 50mph. I plan to take it in to a shop Friday but was wanting to get all your ideas and possible fixes. Could I need a new trackbar? I know I need an alignment as the steering wheel is now off to the left, and there is also a kind of popping/clicking noise when I turn the wheel to the left. I will attach some pics that hopefully cover all the angles tonight...Thank you in advance for all your help!
Old 02-12-2013, 01:04 PM
Old School CF Moderator

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 2001
Engine: 4.0

You could have bent a wheel, or damaged a u joint on the axle, or your hub may be going out. If your drivers side is sticking out further then you need an adj trac bar..but with 3 inches of lift it shouldnt be very noticeable.
Old 02-12-2013, 01:07 PM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1994
Engine: 190-hp, 4.0-liter I-6

Originally Posted by JiggaLoew