Go Back  Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > Modified XJ Cherokee Tech
Do they make a radio delete plate for a 98 XJ? >

Do they make a radio delete plate for a 98 XJ?

Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.

Do they make a radio delete plate for a 98 XJ?

Old 05-09-2017, 08:58 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: NC
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Do they make a radio delete plate for a 98 XJ?

My '98 XJ still has the OEM stereo, tape player only. My plan is to replace it with a blank plate, and install an amp with a bluetooth receiver to get music off my phone. I haven't listened to FM radio in years. Then, I can use the blank plate as a place to install other switches and gauges.

Is there such a thing as an OEM radio delete plate that would go here? Either from an XJ or other Chrysler vehicle with the same size radio? I know I can get a DIN adapter, and then a blank DIN plate...but it wouldn't be as large as the face of the stock radio. Would like as much space as possible to install switches and such...

Been googling my brains out but I can't seem to find such a thing, only generic DIN block offs. Did Chrysler ever make such a thing?
Number21 is offline  
Old 05-09-2017, 11:13 PM
  #2  
Member
 
dcollins3208's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 205
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1997
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default

Get a single din install kit and superglue a plate of good black plastic material over it. You can still easily remove the entire assembly when you want to install switches, just 2 bolts

*edit: disregard, didn't read the whole post, it's late.

Last edited by dcollins3208; 05-09-2017 at 11:15 PM.
dcollins3208 is offline  
Old 05-09-2017, 11:17 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: NC
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default

Originally Posted by dcollins3208 View Post
Get a single din install kit and superglue a plate of good black plastic material over it. You can still easily remove the entire assembly when you want to install switches, just 2 bolts
That's kind of my backup plan. It will work, but, I think the stock radio is something like 1.5 DIN, thus, if they made an OEM plate for that, it would be bigger.

Never too much room for switches!
Number21 is offline  
Old 05-10-2017, 12:35 PM
  #4  
CF Veteran
 
jordan96xj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,923
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0L
Default

You can get plain black plastic plates for work like this. Installers use them to create cleaner nicer looking installations.

Here is one on amazon. I just bought one a few days ago:

Install Bay ABS Plastic 12 X 12 X 1/8-Inch
by Install Bay
Link: http://a.co/7pSPuEB
jordan96xj is offline  
Old 05-11-2017, 02:58 AM
  #5  
CF Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Louisville,KY
Posts: 8,015
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default

Have a audio shop make you one.
andrewmp6 is offline  
Old 05-11-2017, 03:03 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: NC
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default

Originally Posted by jordan96xj View Post
You can get plain black plastic plates for work like this. Installers use them to create cleaner nicer looking installations.

Here is one on amazon. I just bought one a few days ago:

Install Bay ABS Plastic 12 X 12 X 1/8-Inch
by Install Bay
Link: http://a.co/7pSPuEB
Thanks for that link, it's definitely an option. I need to pull out the radio and see what it will take to mount that in the hole. I'm kinda lazy though, would rather have a ready made option from Chrysler. Just wondering if such a thing was ever made.


Originally Posted by andrewmp6 View Post
Have a audio shop make you one.
I tend to be against having "a shop" do anything, been screwed too many times on automotive work. As they say, if you want it done right, you gotta do it yourself...
Number21 is offline  
Old 05-20-2017, 06:04 AM
  #7  
CF Veteran
 
Veeb0rg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Posts: 2,344
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0l
Default

OEM Part #4372399

They're EOL so doubt you'll find a dealer with one in stock.

http://www.turbododge.com/forums/f8/...ml#post2310970

Last edited by Veeb0rg; 05-20-2017 at 06:10 AM.
Veeb0rg is offline  
Old 05-20-2017, 08:33 PM
  #8  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: NC
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default

Originally Posted by Veeb0rg View Post
OEM Part #4372399

They're EOL so doubt you'll find a dealer with one in stock.

http://www.turbododge.com/forums/f8/...ml#post2310970
Thanks for the part number, at least I know now. You're right though, can't find anyone selling one...
Number21 is offline  
Old 05-20-2017, 10:27 PM
  #9  
CF Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Louisville,KY
Posts: 8,015
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default

andrewmp6 is offline  
Old 05-20-2017, 11:07 PM
  #10  
CF Veteran
 
Turbo X_J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ☼ Blackhole Sun
Posts: 8,567
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: My Jeep is a GMC
Default

Turbo X_J is offline  
Old 05-21-2017, 01:19 AM
  #11  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: NC
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default

Originally Posted by andrewmp6 View Post
Leave an antique radio that I never use so that I can spend a ton of money to get rid of the ashtray I keep full of change? That's a great idea...

Originally Posted by Turbo X_J View Post
I like that...would be nice to be able to take the plate off without taking the entire dash apart to install new switches...
Number21 is offline  
Old 05-21-2017, 04:45 AM
  #12  
CF Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Louisville,KY
Posts: 8,015
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default

What are you going to use the switches for ?
andrewmp6 is offline  
Old 05-21-2017, 04:59 AM
  #13  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: NC
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default

Originally Posted by andrewmp6 View Post
What are you going to use the switches for ?
Just off the top of my head...
Extended idle
Fog lights
Electric fan override
Seat heater
Power inverter
Air compressor
Light bar
...and a volume **** for the amp I'm replacing the stereo with...

If you don't need extra switches you might as well be driving a model T.
Number21 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: