Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

daily driver weekend fun lift 99 xj

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2011, 08:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 Litre Chrysler MPI, "High Output"
Default daily driver weekend fun lift 99 xj

I just picked up a stock auto 4.0 99 xj classic. Its a third vehicle and will primarily be driven as a family vehicle, short trips around town mostly, as well as fun on the weekends. I'd like a lift that provides for a nice comfortable ride as well as one that gives the vehicle some decent offroad capabilities. I do not want to regear.
My stock springs in the rear slightly sag a little it seems, so a kit that replaces them completely would be nice.
Offroad I'm looking at more trail driving light crawling little mud.
I'm completely new to the Jeep scene, so any suggestions on this matter are appreciated.
Old 09-18-2011, 08:48 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0

There are lots of companies.

Rubicon Express (what i have the 3.5 Superride components)

Rough Country ( I have some of their products as well)

Rustys

Iron Rock Offroad

Skyjacker

BDS

and others Im sure people will chime in with.

EDIT: And Welcome to cherokeeforum! there is a ton of great information on here!
Old 09-18-2011, 09:41 PM
CF Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 5.2 v8

Welcome!

It all depends on how much money you've got burning a hole in your pocket...

Two things come to mind with what you're looking for, a budget boost kit, and some new oem leafs, and shocks of your choice (shocks are big factor in ride quality)

Or....if you have the aforementioned cash, look into a medium duty old man emu kit. Some of the best ride quality manufactured, and their kits are usually pretty complete for the amount of lift they usually supply.