Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cracked exhaust manifold in my '99 classic XJ

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2016, 12:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Cracked exhaust manifold in my '99 classic XJ

Hey all, I'm new to the forums here, I've poked around looking for good advice for a while but this is my first time posting.
I've had a cracked exhaust manifold for a good while and I'm finally getting around to fixing it. My budget is very limited and I'm looking for some help on what the best way to go about fixing it is. I want to do a good job so that I don't end up having to replace it again soon but without breaking the bank. I've heard of a lot of people welding them with mixed results, I am looking at that as a cheaper option but I want the fix to last. I also have read that a lot of people have had trouble fitting the APN headers on the 99 engines. I am looking at this ceramic coated Speed Daddy manifold
http://speed-daddy.com/exhaust-syste...l6-yk-tj-xj-zj
but it looks a lot like the APN one and I need it to fit out of the box as i don't have access to a grinder to modify it. Any recommendations on durable manifolds that anyone has had good experience with around the $100 price range would be greatly appreciated as well as any input about welding my stock one. I am also thinking about new engine mounts because I have read old engine mounts are a big contributor to cracking manifolds. What are thoughts about replacing with similar to stock vs. upgrading? Any input will be much appreciated!
Old 11-22-2016, 12:23 AM

I have a 99 Sport. For what it's worth I changed my exhaust manifold a few years ago due to a crack in the factory unit. I went with the APN unit. I did not have to grind anything. I remember it being sort of a pain to get installed but I did not have to grind.