Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bumper Types

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2014, 03:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1997
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 I6
Default Bumper Types

I've been perusing various front bumpers for Bernice, and I came across several different types. The few main kinds I saw were: Pre-runners (IE Rusty's), Crawler (IE XRC), Grille Guards (IE Warrior Products), and Stingers (IE Rough Country). If one of you would be as so kind as to enlighten me on the various types of bumpers and their pros and cons, it would be greatly appreciated...

Old 04-14-2014, 09:00 PM

Year: 2000
Engine: 4.0

I'm no pro, but I do know that bumpers are generally preferred to regular grill guards if you have the cash or prefer the look of just the grill guard. This is because unless you get some expensive grill guard that's made for a winch, or have it custom reinforced or something, it'll be nearly impossible to mount a front winch. Also, grill guards often take place of your tow hooks and most aren't nearly strong enough to use as a tow point. Also, they generally won't hold up as well in an accident. They don't offer the same kind of protection as a bumper...

A bumper can be attached to the nobody frame and be MUCH stronger than a brush guard alone...This allows for shackles to be attached for vehicle recovery. Also, you have many more options, especially for bumpers with spots for winches.

Many bumpers come with the option of some sort of grill or headlight protection, too.

Tube bumpers are probably lighter than a full heavy duty bumper, due to the fact that they are made of metal tubes instead of big steel plates. They often don't extend as far down as other bumpers, so they offer good approach and departure angles. Some tube bumpers are made to hold a winch.