Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brand New Guy. Where to start?

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2016, 10:38 AM
HRK

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Brand New Guy. Where to start?

Hi guys, new here. I recently got a ride in my buddy's Cherokee on some trails and got completely hooked. I'm now looking around locally for a good condition stock Cherokee that I can build. My question is related to building the truck after I find one.

I'm looking to do trail driving, so I'd like to build an all-around versatile truck that can handle typical medium-difficulty trails. I'm not looking to scale walls or go rock crawling or deep mud bogging. I'm thinking that a 3-4" lift with 32" tires would be the way to go. Being a complete newbie to XJ's , however, I don't know what other supporting modifications need to be done to the truck to allow this to happen. Axle modifications, wheel backspacing, control arm modifications, etc.

I'm a former 10-year ASE mechanic and I still do all the work myself on my vehicles, so the mechanical aspect is no issue for me. I just need some advice on what parts are needed for such a build. If anyone out there has done a similar build, I'd love to learn how you went about it and hopefully gain some knowledge about how to put together a great trail rig.
Old 02-27-2016, 11:03 AM
HRK

Just came across this list of all lift kits available:
https://www.cherokeeforum.com/f67/je...mpanies-76868/

The Rough Country kit seems to be the most popular:
http://www.roughcountry.com/jeep-sus...-kit-630x.html

The Rubicon kit looks like a great option and has some perks like swaybar disconnects, ball joints, and better shocks. It's also a slightly higher lift (and higher price) than the RC kit:
http://www.rubiconexpress.com/Suspen...n=R%2fERE6030M

According to this post, other supporting mods are needed: