Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

basic wiring - water temp sensor/gauge - help a complete newbie

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2016, 03:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Unhappy basic wiring - water temp sensor/gauge - help a complete newbie

Hi again everyone,

So my 85 Cherokee only has an idiot light, (which didn't even work when I blew my head gasket and cracked my cylinder head), and I am trying to install a new temp sender and water temp gauge.

I have no idea what I'm doing, and could use all the help I can get.
Does anyone have any basic electric wiring advice or a good website for help? I do not know how to wire anything really, and I don't want to start a car fire with mistakes.

The instructions that came with the gauge said to connect the gauge to the ignition for power, connect a wire to the sending unit, and connect a wire to ground and if lighting is desired. Do I just get basic wires at the shop and solder them together? Is there a different way to do it?
Also should I connect wires to the ignition? Seems sketchy and I don't wanna mess up my ignition..
Sorry I am just completely clueless on this, and I've researched online and everything I've found just assumes that people know the basics of wiring, which I do not..

straightforward instructions, but over my head.. help!?

what are these 2 things on the left for? and all these nuts? do you use them with the lock washers to attach wires to the gauge?<br/>(I am assuming the top 2 nuts are for studs on gauge if you are mounting directly into the instrument panel)

Last edited by mkawski; 08-27-2016 at 03:10 PM.
Old 08-27-2016, 03:07 PM