Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Axle swap questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2015, 05:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Axle swap questions

Hi I have finally gotten everything i need to do my first axle swap and i had a few questions before i dove in. up front Im putting in a dana 30 from a different xj and in the rear a dana 44 which i already have the spring and shock mounts welded on so both should bolt on. this is my first swap and i only have one day off a week and my xj is my dd will it take me over a day to swap one axle? or both? expirence wise Im fairly new at wrenching ive done a couple clutch jobs. Any advice helps thanks!
Old 03-24-2015, 07:17 PM
CF Veteran

Received 226 Likes on 176 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0 L

Originally Posted by Anotheraustinsmith
Hi I have finally gotten everything i need to do my first axle swap and i had a few questions before i dove in. up front Im putting in a dana 30 from a different xj and in the rear a dana 44 which i already have the spring and shock mounts welded on so both should bolt on. this is my first swap and i only have one day off a week and my xj is my dd will it take me over a day to swap one axle? or both? expirence wise Im fairly new at wrenching ive done a couple clutch jobs. Any advice helps thanks!
In theory it shouldn't, but in practice...

Just be sure to soak every bolt that needs to be removed in penetrating oil every day for a week before you do anything.
Old 03-24-2015, 07:29 PM
Former Sponsor

Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by XJlimitedx99
In theory it shouldn't, but in practice...

Just be sure to soak every bolt that needs to be removed in penetrating oil every day for a week before you do anything.
What he said.