Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advice on lift kit

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2013, 10:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L High Output
Default Advice on lift kit

It's been a while, but I am just now starting to really get into restoring my 96 XJ. What I am looking at is raising it 3" (suspension is still stock and getting rough). I was wondering if anyone who has done this before had any advice. When I am restoring it, I want to do it right, and get an idea of what all I may need to include with the cost (Example: new brake lines, SYE, brakes, speedo gear, steering stabilizer, sway bar, etc.).

I'm pretty new to this. I'm planning on keeping this Jeep for a long time and willing to invest in it. I'm not looking at rock climbing or anything intense, it's going to mostly be used for camping, semi light off-roading, dirt trails, grass fields, winter driving (Illinois), and light-medium mudding.

Any advice, words of wisdom, guidance, etc. would be appreciated. What I am currently looking at is a 3" Skyjacker Standard lift kit with rear leafs and nitro shocks; 31" tires.
Old 05-01-2013, 10:13 PM
Old School CF Moderator

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 2001
Engine: 4.0

Please never consider skyjacker lol.

Do it right..you said you don't mind spending..so do it on QUALITY PARTS.

My suggestion for a mint 3" lift?

3" Rustys Coils
2" old man emu medium load leafs,
Small drop shackle.
Bilstein 5100s
Quality upper AND lower arms (iron man Andy, rock Krawler, Clayton, rubicon express)
Extended brake lines
Extended quick discos.
adjustable double sheer trac bar (iro, rock Krawler, re)
Old 05-01-2013, 11:30 PM

Engine: 4.0 Straight Six