Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

About to pull my hair out on driveline vibe, need some pointers

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2017, 12:07 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6
Default About to pull my hair out on driveline vibe, need some pointers

I've been fighting a driveline vibe for almost six months, now. My XJ is lifted 4.5" with a Rubicon Express hack/tap SYE, 6 degree shims, and a stock XJ front driveshaft for the rear.

Every single U joint in the Jeep has been replaced with moog or spicer. New motor mounts, new trans mount. The output yoke is torqued to spec and there is no play in the driveshaft system. It's completely sold when bolted in. The rear output yoke is exactly 2 degrees below my driveshaft angle.

The noise only happens on moderate to heavy acceleration. It gets really bad over 50mph and stops completely when I let off the throttle. It's a pulsing noise and gets more intense and frequent the closer my vehicle approaches a shift point. The vibration isn't extremely loud, but it's enough to annoy the hell out of me and shake my loose change.

The noise is not present if I pull my rear driveshaft. The shaft itself is not warped and spins true to its axis.

It just appeared out of nowhere one day, I had this driveline setup for a few months with no issues. Get in and drive one evening and instantly notice.

What could it be? What should be my next step? I'm completely stumped. To make matters worse, there are no professional 4 wheel/Jeep/off-road shops around that could assist me (indiana), so I'm ****ed there as well.
Old 07-30-2017, 01:05 AM
CF Veteran

Received 38 Likes on 37 Posts
Year: 96 & 88 4 dr Cherokees

From my experience, that kind of noise/vibe is a u-joint going bad.

Could you have damaged one while putting them in ?

Are you sure the driveshaft end to end ?