Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

96 to 93 XJ

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2018, 08:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Default 96 to 93 XJ

I currently have a 1996 XJ with 150K miles on it and a 5 speed trans. Unfortunately it was in an accident before I bought it and the front passenger side is destroyed beyond any repair I can do myself. I've been looking at parts cars with solid frames that I could swap my engine and trans into as well as a few other odds and ends like the seats and radio and the like. Is it a good idea to buy a second jeep (1993 for $500) and to swap the engines and trans? I plan to sell the old engine and trans as well as the interior and axels after I'm done with them to make up some of the money I lost in buying a parts car. I've never done this before but from what I've read it seems fairly straight forward and I have experience in other areas of working on the jeep. Overall I'm just wondering if theres anything to look out for that would make this a bad decision or would it be simple enough for me to do.

I have access to an engine crane and engine hoist as well as near limitless tools so just removing and replacing the engine wouldn't be too difficult the only worry I have is if I have to do any fabrication work or if I have to make any major changes to the engine itself.
Old 08-01-2018, 06:01 AM
CF Veteran

Received 456 Likes on 369 Posts
Year: 1997
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: 4.0

Sounds like a good idea to me, I got a wrecked jeep for 300 that I pulled the engine and transmission, along with a few other things so I could have spares for my jeep, and I scrapped it for $120.
Old 08-03-2018, 10:20 AM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Year: 1993
Engine: 4.0

I actually used to have a 96 and currently have a 93, from what I remember the only concernable differences are;