Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4.0 HO into 88 xj upgrade suggestions and advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2013, 01:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1988
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6
Default 4.0 HO into 88 xj upgrade suggestions and advice

Hi there. I'm looking to upgrade my engine performance and was looking into doing a stroker. I have an 88 xj 4.0 6l all stock with d30 and d35 with 3 bb up front and 3.5 full leafs in back (not sure how pertinent that is). I know the popular options include turbos, v8 swaps, And strokes. Doing a stroker seemed to make the most sense but I'm new to the technical engine points of the jeep. If I were looking to do a stroker, does anyone have any articles or threads stored away about the very basics of how to do a stroker and the mechanics behind it? I've tried the search forum but I didn't understand all of what I read lol. I'm a pretty quick learner so I figured I might as well learn the engine next.

My second question is I found two engines for sale, they are both 6l HO. One runs and is 225 and the other has a long block rebuildable core (what exactly does this mean?) for 125. Are any of these a good deal for the purpose of building a stroker and which one should I choose? How big of a pain is it to transplant it to the 88? I'm on a student budget so I'm looking to keep a decent budget, how much extra stuff will I need to get? I've read various opinions.

Thanks ahead for the help!
Old 01-08-2013, 01:37 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1989
Engine: 4.7 Stroker I6

your just using the block so if you want to keep the renix system its pretty much a direct swap. you will want a adj fuel pressure reg, bigger injectors and adj map sensor module.

Here I have pretty much a whole stroker planned out and a 93 block and head waiting.

only money stops me...