need feedback on potential XJ

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2019, 05:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0L I6
Default need feedback on potential XJ

I'm brand new to all of this. New to the forum, new to 4x4 vehicles, and definitely new to Cherokee XJs. I moved to Colorado last winter and my E46 (rwd 2-door), while a great vehicle in its own right, is just not getting it down in the winter anymore. Not to mention all the places in the mountains I can't drive it and can't haul stuff to. So I've started looking into Cherokee XJs on the basis that they're plentiful, easy to work on, the 4.0 I6 is a horse, the car overall is reliable, they're 4-doors, and can be quite capable off-road. I've looked at a few XJs this weekend and none of them have really impressed me, and one was in rougher shape than I was expecting. However, I checked this one out this morning and walked away feeling good about it:
https://cosprings.craigslist.org/cto...794030866.html

It's got quite a few miles (nothing has been rebuilt as far as I know), but everything worked great! The engine started right up after sitting for "a week or two", the transmission shifted crisp, both 4-hi and 4-low worked as they should, suspension felt tight, heat & a/c worked, the body was in decent shape (save for a rust spot on a door and small dents/scratches throughout), brakes were solid, and the tires had good tread left. The only bad I could really find was the rear hatch rattles a bit on the highway, it'll probably need a battery, the fog lights don't work, and there's a small oil leak (owner believes it's the oil pan gasket). It responded very quick when I got on the gas on the highway, kind of surprised me actually.