Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Motor mounts

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2016, 04:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Motor mounts

Ok I'm a newb to the jeep scene. I see a lot of people talking of changing their motor mounts. Is this a common problem on an Xj or is their a benefit to changing them?
Old 04-03-2016, 05:48 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

X2 been wondering the same thing
Old 04-03-2016, 08:22 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee (XJ)

Motor mounts go bad over time and can have many adverse effects on other parts of the jeep. Cracked manifold is one of the possible side effects of bad engine mounts. It is definitely something that needs to be monitored to ensure everything runs like it should.

Something like this is not holding the engine like its supposed to...
Name:  003-4.jpg
Views: 8362
Size:  111.9 KB
Old 04-03-2016, 09:09 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1995
Engine: 4.0L HO

Originally Posted by cbs_24
Motor mounts go bad over time and can have many adverse effects on other parts of the jeep. Cracked manifold is one of the possible side effects of bad engine mounts. It is definitely something that needs to be monitored to ensure everything runs like it should.
^This, the engine mounts are a poor design and are prone to failure (all rubber engine mounts fail eventually, but the Jeep 4.0L ones fail earlier than most), and cheap aftermarket replacements are even worse (the first replacement engine mount I put on my XJ was a cheap "Anchor" brand one that lasted less than a year). Luckily the engine mounts are easy to replace, it only takes about 1/2 hr. per side (throw a jack with a 2X4 scrap to spread out the weight under the oil pan to support the engine, than it is just 3 bolts each, removing the air-box, etc. makes it easier though).