Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

Mopar lifetime warranty opinions

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2017, 03:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Red face Mopar lifetime warranty opinions

I was just quoted a price of $4,500 ($100 deductible) for the lifetime warranty for my 2015 Jeep Cherokee (30K miles already on it).

Does this seem reasonable?

Is Mopar negotiable?

This is my first time pricing warranties since I do approx. 20K miles a year and plan on keeping this car until it's no longer drivable.

(I should probably add that i'm located in NY since I believe this affects the price)

Thanks in advance!
Old 04-14-2017, 03:36 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0

No.
Old 04-14-2017, 03:37 PM

elaborate?
Old 04-14-2017, 04:27 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1998

What does "lifetime" mean?

Jansport famously has a lifetime warranty on their backpacks--but the backpack has a lifetime of only 2 years.

Jeep already has a 60k warranty on that cherokee. What does the $4500 get you? Because it gets me a whole spare car...or two...
Old 04-14-2017, 04:35 PM
CF Veteran

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
Year: My Jeep is a GMC

elaborate?

You asked so here goes.
The lowdown in your face answer #1 is only people that can't afford them, buy extended warranties.
I'll assume the cost of the extended warranty can be conveniently added to your finance contract, correct? Wouldn't you rather have $4500.00 set aside for repairs if it should ever be needed?
Lowdown answer #2.
Can you afford say a $500 repair in your first six months of owning this vehicle?
If not, you can't afford this vehicle.
Old 04-14-2017, 05:04 PM

The lifetime warranty is a lifetime extension of the basic warranty (no mileage cap). So the majority of issues are covered.