Improve radio reception (HD) - Jeep Cherokee Forum
Jeep Cherokee Forum


Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

Improve radio reception (HD)

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2010, 02:28 PM   #1
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 21

View EChristopher's Photo Album My Photos
Default Improve radio reception (HD)

Installed a JVC HD radio in my XJ some time ago but the reception was really poor. The HD signal was constantly lost and it would take 3-4 seconds to re-acquire them each time it happenned. The factory antenna simply is not adequate in location or build. I purchased a short (1 ft.) rubber antenna, drilled a hole in the roof, dropped the headliner and ran the the wire (with 12' extension) down the passenger column and along the floor rail and up behind the dash. Plugged it in and the results are amazing. Not only have I not ONCE lost an HD channel, I'm pulling in stations from rediculously far away. So, if you don't mind drilling a 1" hole in your roof and an hour of easy labor this is an incredible solution to poor reception.

I don't think I spent more than $25 for the antenna and extension cable.....
EChristopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 02:31 PM   #2
Seasoned Member
 
mrmikey32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lake in the hills,IL
Posts: 462

View mrmikey32's Photo Album My Photos
Default

why use hd when you can have satalite? but i ran the antenna the same way.
mrmikey32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 03:14 PM   #3
Member
 
rdeskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sullivan County NY
Posts: 247

View rdeskater's Photo Album My Photos
Default

x2 sirius rocks!!
rdeskater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 12:31 AM   #4
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 21

View EChristopher's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Agreed, Sirius is the way to go (if you want to pay). My point was to generally improve "free" radio reception on an XJ (be it HD or otherwise), as the near-engine mounted fender antenna is quite poor. ALL local stations (near and far) are now coming in crystal clear, HD or not. It only bothered me because I'm accustomed to my other vehicle's reception ('95 M3) which is impressive but now falls short of the XJ with this setup. Despite that, I have no plans to drill any holes into my E36....
EChristopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 12:56 AM   #5
Member
 
BeepBeepImaJeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Martinsburg,WV
Posts: 202

View BeepBeepImaJeep's Photo Album My Photos
Default

i cant pick up radio stations at all really, the regular free radio...i have an antenna and kenwood headunit and the antenna wire is plugged into back of headunit idno wtf the prob is.
BeepBeepImaJeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 08:17 AM   #6
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 21

View EChristopher's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Yeah, that's why a made mew new antenna setup. Still don't know why the Jeep stock antenna is so horrible. Trust me - install a new antenna on top, 100% improvent on mine (analog AND hybrid).
EChristopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 10:57 AM   #7
Seasoned Member
 
mrmikey32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lake in the hills,IL
Posts: 462

View mrmikey32's Photo Album My Photos
Default

ive yet to have any problems with my stock setup. still have the stock radio too!

i am also in the stix of chicago
mrmikey32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 03:56 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 17

View LSkrabut's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I just installed a Kenwood XHD942U HD radio.

Kept the stock antenna and I have no issues with it at all. My favor station is about 40-50 miles away and I pick it up without any drops while driving around locally.

I am wondering if your stock antenna cable or if the antenna ground was ok EC? I basicly have a rust free vehicle (at the moment )
LSkrabut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 04:12 PM   #9
"CF Moderator"
 
TrekkerJmm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: N.J. Shore Area
Posts: 3,045

View TrekkerJmm's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Maybe its just me (Old School) but I dont pay for free radio...lol...now on to the problem..The factory antenna cable is in two pieces and for some reason it SUXX so I ran a new 31 inch (Optimum for FM reception) and new cable direct to the radio and it comes in great now...Tj
TrekkerJmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 04:41 PM   #10
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: sarasota Fl
Posts: 279

View joe bob's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmikey32 View Post
ive yet to have any problems with my stock setup. still have the stock radio too!

i am also in the stix of chicago

Stix of chicago, thats funny I used to get stations from chicago all the way down to indiannapoliss with my old stock 82 toyota radio
joe bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 03:17 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1

View hdradioguy53's Photo Album My Photos
Default My Hero

Thanks for this easy and efficient solution. i'm gonna be puttin this to use right away.

http://hdradionow.com
hdradioguy53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 03:33 PM   #12
Honorary Moderator
 
96_xj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Gilbert AZ/Las Cruces NM
Posts: 8,135

View 96_xj's Photo Album My Photos
Default

moved to chat.



but i have not heard many good things on HD radio so i havent even bothered since the prices are so high....i am xm and serious ready those have caught my eye!
96_xj is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zone 4.5" xj lift!!! Niiiice!! ROCKRIDGE 4WD Vendor Showcase 6 07-13-2016 12:11 PM
Rough Idle after Gas Change libengan OEM XJ Cherokee Technical. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here 14 11-06-2015 09:16 AM
Lost power to Dash on the way to work SergeK OEM XJ Cherokee Technical. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here 3 10-05-2015 11:41 AM
When is it just too much to fix? Nkyshaolin Cherokee Chat 28 10-01-2015 04:48 PM
98 XJ wiring nightmare BluJay OEM XJ Cherokee Technical. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here 4 09-26-2015 10:38 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: